Announcing the Eutelsat TV Awards nominations for 2013

Paris, 3 October 2013 - One in four TV homes around the world today watches satellite TV and this should be one in three homes before the end of the decade. This growing consumer appetite for satellite TV is driven by choice, quality and innovation, three features that the cross-industry jury of the Eutelsat TV Awards debated from 27 to 28 September during a screening of 100 channels from 20 countries.

Now in its 16th year, the Eutelsat TV Awards is a unique international event identifying and rewarding excellence  in satellite broadcasting. Winning channels in nine thematic categories will be honoured at a ceremony in Venice on November 15 presented by UK television journalist Kate Silverton.

Duilio Giammaria, RAI television presenter and Jury Chairman of the Eutelsat TV Awards said: “From channels  with a 20-year legacy to new entrepreneurial ventures in emerging markets, the jury assessed the quality of  content creation, innovative programme packaging and how channels are leveraging technology to engage with  their audience.” This year’s shortlist spans 12 countries: China, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan,
Poland, Russia, Turkey, UK, USA.

All participating channels in the Eutelsat TV Awards can now compete for the People’s Choice Award that will be won by the channel generating most votes from the viewing public. Voting opened on October 1 and will continue until October 30 via participating channel websites as well as the official competition website - - and´other popular sites including, and

The nominees for the EUTELSAT TV Awards 2013:


The jury: Jerzy Barski from TV-Sat Magazine (Poland), Jacques Braun from Eurodata TV (France), Robert Briel from Broadband TV News, Sergey Buntman from Echo of Moscow (Russia), Alessandra Comazzi from La Stampa (Italy), Paolo Dalla Chiara from Pentastudio (Italy), Christian Blankenburg from ARD (Germany), Giacomo Mazzone from the EBU, Fusun Nebil from Turk Internet (Turkey), Reem Nouss Media Consultant and Executive Producer, Twofour Arabia (UK). Jury chairman: Duilio Giammaria from Rai (Italy). Technical expert: Mauro Roffi from Millecanali (Italy).

Press Eutelsat TV Awards
Vanessa O’Connor
Tel: + 33 1 53 98 37 91

Marie-Sophie Ecuer
Tel: + 33 1 53 98 37 91

Gladys Dalla Chiara
Tel. + 39 0444 543 133

Tel. + 39 0444 543 133